Zum Seiteninhalt springen

Institute of Social Sciences

The Institute of Social Sciences is composed of the departments of geography, history, sociology, political science and social studies for elementary schools. All departments focus on the training of students in the various subject-teacher education programmes. Sociology, as a foundational discipline, forms a cross-cutting area for all bachelor teacher education programmes. The other departments train student teachers for the school subjects geography, history, social studies (civic education) at the secondary level and social and local studies for the elementary school – whereby subject-content and subject-didactic aspects complement each other with different weighting in the bachelor’s and master’s programmes.

The research areas of the individual departments cover a broad spectrum. They range from the sociological foundations of education and domain-specific didactic learning prerequisites to the design and evaluation of learning environments and empirical research into educational pathways and learning processes in the respective domains.

For further informationen please visit our german sites.